Charlotte's Story

Charlotte’s Story (Part 2)

April 2013 brought on more changes for Charlotte. After going Paleo for some time now, I decided to add back in peanuts for me. I honestly love peanut butter so I wanted to see if it was something I could tolerate again! So I would enjoy a Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Larabar from time to time. This was something I treated myself to. No one else in the family eats peanut butter at home except for Rob and myself. The kiddos typically ate sunbutter because they couldn’t have peanut butter at school anyways.IMG_2833

On April 19, 2013 I was oh so kind to share a tiny piece of my larabar with Charlotte. She instantly reacted to it. Flaring up head to toe. It just tore through me. I felt so bad for her. This flare being the worse of all, and I knew we had a hill to climb. You can read more about her peanut allergy story here. With all that we had gone through prior to this, I never gave Charlotte any peanut butter up to this point.  I had a gut feeling she may react to it. (Seriously, I should have listened to that gut feeling). At the same time, this is probably what finally kicked me into gear to officially test her for allergies instead of me trying to figure it all out.

So far we had already eliminated dairy, gluten, legumes (except for this instance) from when we started Paleo, and now added peanuts to the list. You can see from this picture how inflamed she had gotten…IMG_3002

We saw an allergists and had a skin test done. This is when we found out she was allergic to wheat, beef, peas, tomatoes, fish, shellfish, brazil nuts, and of course peanuts. Peanuts being the most severe. So back to the drawing board.  For me, it was easier to revamp the menu for the whole family. When cooking for 7, it was just easier to avoid these same foods too. It made meal planning easier, and also didn’t have to worry about Charlotte not understanding why we could eat something she could not.

April 30, 2013 we were still trying to get her skin to calm down.  All her itchingIMG_2994 just made it worse. We were trying creams, avocado oil, coconut oil, lavender essential oil, detox baths. Anything to get her some relief. The MooGoo cream was still working the best. Her body seemed super sensitive. Her lower back just would not clear up. For some reason this typically is the spot she always would itch, especially during the night. Maybe because she could easily reach that spot, I am not sure. Plus her diaper would rub in that spot too. So during the day we would limit the amount of time she was in a diaper and let her roam free.

Charlotte’s inflammation was starting to go down, but she was still not
sleeping. Most days it was off and on in the Moby Wrap during the day and holding her when she slept at night. I could just tell she was so uncomfortable. Crying on an off for days on end. She was at an age where she couldn’t tell me what was bothering her, but knew something was. She wasn’t herself!IMG_3027

May 18th, 2013 you can start to see her back is looking much better (Picture below on the left). It has almost been a month since the reaction to the peanuts. Her back has some redness and scaling to it. Lower back is looking much better with just a little rednIMG_4309ess left. I had been doing some research on diapers at this point now for almost a month to find a better solution in hopes to help speed the recovery process, and be better for her skin. So came across Bambo Nature. I got mine off Amazon here. They have no dangerous chemicals, no allergens, no perfumes, no heavy metals, no substances know as harmful to health or environment, and the list goes on. You can visit their website here to learn more about their diapers and the ingredients that they use to make them. Personally they worked for me, and they held up great for Charlotte and her twin! They are pricey so little after 3 months of using these diapers (since I am buying for 2 babes) I switching to cloth diapers during the day, and used Bambo Nature at night only to save me some money. Picture on the right is Charlotte just a couple of days later after we made the switch to Bambo Nature diapers.

*Final Part 3 tomorrow!

***these are my own thoughts and opinions. I was not given or asked to write a review on any of the products I mentioned. I encourage you to do your own research and consult with a professional before making your own changes.

One thought on “Charlotte’s Story (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

