Clean Eating · snacks

Kid Friendly Snacks 1…2…3

I don’t know about you, but my kiddos seem to be snacking all day long. I keep fruits and veggies around so they can snack on those as they feel the need. I also schedule snacks during the day. Once in the morning and then again after school.

Yesterday’s menu called for my version of ants on a log and mixed nuts. Celery was already pre-cut. I like to wash and pre-cut my celery once I get home from the store. Doing that makes it easier to snack on during the day, or I can grab some and chop them up for a dish I am making. I snagged some out of the fridge and added some sunbutter. You can use an

IMG_0122
Ants on log-coconut style. Paleo friendly

y kind of nut butter if you prefer. Then I topped them with raisins and shredded coconut. Served them up on a plate and let them have at it. They were gobbling them up before I even got a picture of them!  Just another way to change things up. I also like adding these to their snack buckets at school. Easy peasy.

 

Onto the mixed nuts. We haven’t made candied walnuts in awhile so we decided to make those instead. These are also a great alternative on top of salads. I love my cast irons and do a lot of my cooking in them currently. I have some ceramic cookware on my wish list that I want to replace all my other cookware with except my cast irons which I will always hold on to.

Warm up your cast iron to med-high heat. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside. I really stink at measuring, but add about a cup or more of walnuts or other nut of your choosing. Basically line the bottom of th

IMG_0121
Caramelized in cast iron pan. Paleo friendly

e pan in a single layer with walnuts. Pour in approximately 1/4 cup of grade B pure maple syrup, a dash of salt, and a teaspoon (or more to your taste) of cinnamon. Keep stirring until it’s caramelized.

 

Once it has caramelized dish onto the parchment paper and let cool. Eat some up and store the rest in an airtight container.

IMG_0120
Line on parchment paper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Third snack I am sharing today is from Against All Grain. When I first started changing up our diets I turned to her website and books to help me along. She helped making the transition for me easier. She is very knowledgeable and you can read more about her story here. I enjoy making her Jello for the kiddos using Great Lakes Gelatin. It is a grass-fed unflavored gelatin which can help support joints as well as healthy skin, hair, and nails. You can find her 2 ingredient recipe here. Quick and easy to make, and a family favorite. You won’t be disappointed! As you can tell by my son’s face he can’t wait to dive in. You can even throw in some fruit into it to if you like. Personally I don’t like fruit in my jello, just a texture thing so I don’t add it to ours.  I served the jello along with crunchy rice rollers topped with sunbutter. These both are great to send for school snack.

IMG_0124
Against All Grain Jello-paleo friendly. Crunchy Rice Rolls and sunbutter

I hope you enjoy these snacks as much as my family does. Keep it simple and clean. Now I am going to go and enjoy the chaos of some hide-and-seek with my family, and listen to the beautiful noise of the rain outside.

 

Leave a Reply

