Clean Eating · School Lunches

School Lunch & Eggplant Dip

It is motivation Monday.  Today I hit the mat with some friends at 5:30am this morning to do some Hot Yoga. What a great way to start the morning. If you haven’t tried it before, you really should. A great way to focus on yourself, reduce stress, and tone the body.  I refueled myself with a great breakfast with my kiddos this morning before they were off to school.IMG_0125

Lunch today my daughter made for those that go to school. They enjoyed leftover hotdogs from yesterday’s dinner. Salad of romaine lettuce with some broccoli slaw (broccoli and carrots). The broccoli slaw we get a Trader Joes. It is great to mix into lettuce.  I
also like using it in my zoodles. Topped the salad with a few raisins. She cut up some strawberries and added a pickle. Healthy lunch that is simple and easy to put together.

I finally got around to making smokey eggplant dip. One of my favorite dips to make for raw veggies. My kiddos enjoy it too. When I first made it, I just told them to try it. Sometimes if they know what it is made with they won’t even want to taste it. They approved, and then I explained how I made it. Allowing your kiddos to cook with you in the kitchen is also an added bonus because they will typically eat what they make!  Yesterday we grilled up the eggplant, peeled it, and put it in the food processor.  I used a recipe from Thug Kitchen. You can find their Smokey Eggplant Dip here. The language can be profound, but it is all in good nature. The recipe is to die for though,so go check it out and give it a try! The only substitution I made was I changed out the olive oil for avocado oil since I didn’t have any on hand. Still turned out amazing. Have it on hand around the house or take it to a party.  Dip in and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

