Product Reviews

Laundry detergent & NaturOli Soap Nuts- Product Review

Oh happy day, it’s laundry day.  The one thing mommies love best. As a family of 7 I do at least one load of laundry every day. Whether or not it gets folded and put away the same day is a different story.

3 years ago I did a revamp of my laundry room system. With a house full of kiddos, I wanted a system that would work better for me. So I went out searching for a DIY laundry storage system.  That is when I came across my favorite DIYer Ana White. I found a laundry basket storage shelf I liked. Rob and I set forth and started to build the shelf. You can find Ana White’s plans here.  Seriously, anything to make laundry days a little bit easier, I will take. So I rallied up the kiddos and gave them the assigned duties for when putting clothes into the baskets. Bonus, this unit made it across states in a POD without falling apart!

For me this is how my basket go:

  • 1st basket – Socks, underwear, and pajamas
  • 2nd basket – Workout type clothes
  • 3rd basket – All other clothes
  • 4th basket – Towels, rags, and washcloths

Now I can easily take each basket and dump them straight into the washer with one simple swoop! Rob and I have our own separate basket so I divide ours up amongst these baskets and then do our dress clothes separate along with any of the kiddos dress clothes that get put in our room to wash. The first 3 pictures below were from my hold home, cloth diapers and all. Last photo is in my current home after it moved across states!

So I try to eliminate as many toxins as possible both in my diet and in my everyday life. This includes the laundry room. I feel like I have tried it all. Started out many years ago switching to a free and clear laundry detergent. Then 4 years ago made the switch to making my own. Which I loved for about a year or so. With twins in cloth diapers the detergent I had I felt like was not getting clean enough. So then I switch to Rocking Green Laundry Detergent and loved! It is an eco-friendly laundry detergent and safe for cloth diapers as well.

According to Rocking Green the laundry detergent is:

  • Biodegradable and made from recycled materials
  • Recyclable Packaging
  • Phosphate-Free
  • Gluten and Vegan Friendly
  • SLS- and Parabens-Free
  • Free of optical brighteners

You can learn more about this laundry detergent here. According to their website it cost approx. $0.19 per load. Which is pretty good deal! Although I was happy with my rocking green laundry detergent I was still in search for an even cleaner laundry detergent that  would also cost me less. I then tried again making my own laundry detergent after we were done with cloth diaper, but in liquid form this time. I used this as I continued to search for another alternative. This is when I came across soap nuts.

According to NaturOli:

“Soap nuts are known worldwide by many names such as soapnuts, soapberry, washing nuts, soap nut shells, wash shells, soapberry nut husk, Ritha (Hindi) nut shell, Chinese soapberry and many more. Very simply, soap nuts are the dried shells (or husks) from the soapberry (or soap berry nut). These berries are the fruit from a quite unique tree species. These shells contain a substance called saponin that produces a soaping effect. Saponin is a 100% natural alternative to chemical laundry detergent and cleansers. It can replace many chemical detergents such as those containing sodium laureth sulphate (SLS) that are becoming well known by consumers for being a skin irritant and health hazard.”
It is amazing what they little things can do! They even fight stains and are hypoallergenic. Soap nuts are completely non-toxic and can be composted when done using creating no waste! NaturOli soap nuts come with a re-usable muslin bag that is needed when using soap nuts in laundry.

How to Use Soap Nuts for Laundry:

Seriously this is so easy, and I have been using them for over a year now! I don’t even have to worry about my kiddos coming into contact with chemicals when they do laundry. Take the muslin bag and fill with 5-6 soap nuts. Put in the washer and fill with clothes. Wash in warm or hot water. You can wash in cold water, but I usually soak my soap nuts in the muslin bag in a glass of water for about 5 minutes. Then I put the soap nuts and water in the washer and add my clothes. Wash as usual. Dry clothes as normal. You can use the Soap Nuts for several washes before the shells start to fall apart and become soft, and then I compost. I get about 5-6 washes per 5-6 soap nuts depending on how dirty my laundry is that I am washing. You can use the same bag back to back if doing multiple loads at once. Otherwise hang the bag with soap nuts to dry between washes. Soap nuts are low sudsing so can be used in HE washers as well! You don’t even have to use fabric softer when using soap nuts. According to NatuOli soap nuts are even septic safe and can be used on cloth diapers. My clothes come out clean, fresh, and static free.

IMG_0259

 

Other Uses for Soap Nuts:

Soap nuts can be used for several things around the house. You can use them on your pets, to clean carpet, household cleaner, shampoo, hand wash, just to name a few. You can follow instructions here on other uses.

Have you used soap nuts? What are your thoughts about them?

 

Leave a Reply

