Clean Eating

Hello Autumn- Bring on the Chili

Finally  my favorite time of year has arrived – Autumn! I love everything about this season from the weather to the holidays. Oh and you cannot forget FOOTBALL. Along with football comes my delicious crockpot chili. For me I can eat a bowl of chili and a side salad all week long.

Seriously Rob and I are totally on par. As I was sitting here writing the title of this blog post, Rob pops into the room to say this:

Rob – “You know what sounds so good right now?”

Me- “No dear, what?”

Rob – “A bowl of Chili”

Me – “Are you serious, I am totally blogging about my chili recipe right now”

So you know what will be going on the menu for the upcoming week 🙂

The best part about this chili is I can ground up the meat and then throw everything in the crockpot to simmer the rest of the day until dinner. My kiddos call this “hot” chili. Although not too extremely hot, it is pretty delicious with a kick!

img_0741

Crockpot Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 8 garlic cloves
  • 4lbs of meat ( I use grassfed beef or organic ground turkey)
  • 2- 6oz cans of tomato paste
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 28oz can of fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 4tbsp chili powder
  • 4tbsp of cumin
  • 1tbsp grade b maple syrup
  • 1 bottle of hard cider
  • 1/8-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper depending on your liking
  • basil
  • oregano
  • salt
  • ground pepper
  • Optional beans ( we tend not to eat them, but you can certainly add them to yours)

Directions:

  1. In skillet add either oil or butter and chopped onion. Cooked onion until translucent. Add garlic and cook until fragrant. Add ground meat and cook until browned. While meat is cooking sprinkle in basil, oregano, salt and pepper.
  2. Blend fire-roasted tomatoes in blender and pulse a few times ( you may skip this step and just add to the crockpot. I prefer my tomatoes more pureed)
  3. In crockpot pour in hard cider, and mix in the tomato paste
  4. Add in fire-roasted tomatoes, tomato sauce, and maple syrup. Mix until combined
  5. Add in chili powder, cumin, and cayenne pepper. Sprinkle in more oregano, salt, and pepper. Mix until incorporated.
  6. Add in cooked ground meat.
  7. Set temperature to low and cook for 5-6 hours, or until heated through.

There are several ways you can add chili to the menu during the week. Here are some of my favorite ways. Although, my favorite way is to serve it in a bowl with crushed plantain chips on top!

img_0742
Baked Potato and Chili
img_0743
Chili Dog Style
img_0745
Halloween Style – Chili, goat gouda cheese, and hotdog cut up like and octopus.

Now go enjoy a bowl of chili because I know I will!

Leave a Reply

